Discussion: Breastfeeding and STI transmission risks.

Personal Ads & Forum General Discussion Discussion: Breastfeeding and STI transmission risks.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

This is a crosspost from Reddit/r/adultbreastfeeding https://www.reddit.com/r/AdultBreastfeeding/comments/18texg6/discussion_breastfeeding_and_sti_transmission/

In the efforts of safety regarding adult breastfeeding I have been considering the experiences or thoughts others have had related to the infection or transmission of STIs from breastfeeding. Specifically HSV1/2. Not much legitimate medical information seems to be available however after some searching I have found a medical journal(?) Related to this topic.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3327394/

I am not a medical professional so there is quite a lot of data here that I don’t understand but here are two excerpts I found interesting.

“One uncommon site of HSV infection of the skin is the breast. Reports of herpetic breast infections are predominately cases of transmission from a systemically HSV-infected neonate to the mother during breast-feeding. A comprehensive review of the English literature identified only six reports suggesting HSV breast lesions acquired by means other than through an infected infant. Three of these reports do not specify how the breast became infected with HSV, but the virus was either culture-proven or infected a previously healthy infant during breast-feeding (4–6). In one case, the virus was culture-proven and was presumably acquired by autoinoculation from an oral lesion (5). Only one report suggests transmission of HSV to the breast from a male sexual partner with recurrent oral HSV lesions (7). We present a second case of symptomatic herpetic mastitis acquired possibly from sexual contact in a 46-year-old woman..”